There have been several changes and annexations in Utah since September 1, 2018; read on to learn about some of the general updates, as well as the specific changes and annexations for the last quarter of the 2018 calendar year.

General Updates

In 2018 we saw a growing trend of incorporating more towns into Utah, and in July 2018, Bluff in San Juan County was incorporated. There has been growth and expansion throughout the rest of the state as well: 93 annexations came through the Lieutenant Governor’s Office, with Utah County leading again with 31 annexations and Cache and Davis coming up next with a combined total of 21 annexations.

Our annual submission to the US Census Bureau Boundary and Annexation Survey (BAS) program will be done next month. All the updates from 2018 will be submitted. Boundary updates submitted will also be reflected in the American Community Survey (ACS) and Population Estimates Program (PEP) data estimates and in next year’s BAS materials.

Changes and Annexations

The following table shows the changes and annexations (listed by county and city) since September 1, 2018:

County City Number of Changes
Box Elder Brigham City 1
Cache Providence 1
  Smithfield 1
Davis Farmington & Kaysville Bndy Adj 1
  Kaysville 1
  Layton 1
  Syracuse 1
  West Bountiful 1
Duchesne Roosevelt 1
Salt Lake Bluffdale Adj 4
  Herriman 1
  Magna Metro Township 1
  Salt Lake Adj 1
  Sandy 4
  South Salt Lake Adj 1
  Riverton 1
Sanpete Manti 2
Sevier Salina 1
  Sigurd 1
Utah American Fork 2
  Lehi 2
  Santaquin 1
Wasatch Charles Town 1
Washington Washington City 3
Weber North Ogden 1
  Ogden 1
  Roy 1


As you are taking a look at this data, keep in mind that changes to city boundaries can affect voter precincts, school districts, etc. Also, be sure to share data with your local county clerk’s office or others that may have an interest. The 2020 Census will be coming up soon, so it’s a good time to review your data and get any missing areas included.