Search our website

From the blog

End of year 2016 (fourth quarter) Updates for Municipal Boundaries

Author · Mike Heagin
Published · Dec 30, 2016
Last modified · May 2, 2024
Category · SGID Updates
Read time · 2 min

Once again we have reached the end of the year, and all updates for the Municipal Boundaries are available for download and listed below.

We would like to welcome the newest city in the state: Millcreek in Salt Lake County, seems like it was a long time coming and now it’s here. Hooray!

We also will say goodbye to Ophir, a historic mining town in Tooele County, which was officially dissolved this fall. The municipal boundary may no longer be in effect, but all the history is still there.

There are now five new Metro Townships in Salt Lake County: Magna, White City, Kearns, Copperton, and Emigration Canyon which are available from the link above.

For the year the Lt. Governor’s Office and UGRC have processed 90 documents for annexations and dissolution’s, one City Incorporation, and five Metro Townships incorporations. This represents a few more than were handled last year so we continue to grow. Utah County is still leading with 29 overall, closest second was Cache County with 12. Many thanks to all the City and County Recorder Offices and Surveyors who assist in keeping an accurate representation of Utah’s political subdivisions.

All of the incorporation documents can be reviewed on the 2016 Municipal Certification website, opens in a new tab.

The following are the changes and annexations since Sept. 9, 2016 listed by County and City:

CountyCityNumber of Changes
Box ElderGarland1
Willard (Dissolve)1
Salt LakeSandy2
Millcreek Incorporation1
San JuanBlanding1
UtahAmerican Fork2
Spanish Fork1
TooeleOphir (Dissolution)1